top of page

Life Update & Cocokind Review

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog! I wouldn't be surprised if you forgot about this little blog, it has been quite a while since my last post. I thought it would be good to just hop back on and share a little update about how my life is going on the sustainability front, followed by a little product review of my favorite skincare brand, Cocokind. I have officially tried a good majority of their products so I feel like a review is in order for anyone looking to try new skincare.


Let's get into it! Let's talk about life! Life has been super crazy lately. I started grad school just about a month ago now and I have been feeling very very overwhelmed. I work a full day and then hop from one laptop to another to do readings, assignments, group meetings, etc. While it has been overwhelming and stressful and a tear or two have been shed over a broken pen, it has been so fun and I am learning a ton about how to implement sustainable practices through a corporate lens. My program is full of people from all over the world, coming from completely different backgrounds than my own which has been so eye opening and valuable when working through discussion boards and group assignments. All of the classes in this program are only 7.5 weeks long so the material is super condensed and there is a lot of information squished into a limited amount of time.


Despite my busy schedule I am still finding plenty of time to go on walks and go thrifting as ways to clear my head and regroup, making sure to keep my mental health a priority to avoid too much burnout. If anyone is interested, my most recent thrift find was a pair of Levi's that are basically brand new and in my exact size! It was a very exciting time and I plan to wear them just about as often as I can. Another thing I have been doing aside from work and school has been volunteering at the greenhouse that is onsite at my office. The greenhouse is set up to use all of our own products to grow produce that is then donated to the local food bank. I have gone a few times now with some coworkers and we have gotten to plant, harvest, prune, and trellis all sorts of vegetables. I think it is safe to say I am a pro hydroponics gardener now.. just kidding just kidding, very far from it.


Anyway, that is what I have going on these days, let's hop into a quick product review. As some of you may already know, Cocokind is a skincare brand that uses natural ingredients, sustainable packaging, and promotes social justice among minority groups. I featured this brand in my Skincare + Social Justice post if anyone wants further information on how they are putting a focus on important social causes. Their products are fairly affordable and most of their bestsellers are available at Target. I have been using various Cocokind products for a few years now and have a lot of thoughts on a lot of them, so let's get into the reviews!


Rose Water Toner - This was the very first product I ever tried from Cocokind. It is a super light mist that is great for a quick skin refresh throughout the day. I don't necessarily use it as a true toner would be used, more for a little pick me up after a long day or to just add a little extra hydration if my skin is feeling dry. This product is packaged in a glass bottle and cardboard box.


Oil to Milk Cleanser - This is one of their best selling products, but I have to admit I was not a huge fan. I prefer cleansers that have a little bit more of a lather, this one just left my skin feeling rather blah. It has overall incredible reviews so I would still recommend giving it a try. It is packaged in a sugarcane based plastic tube that is 100% recyclable, minus the cap.


Daily SPF - Not a ton to say about this one, it is a very nice sunscreen, but pretty expensive for the small amount of product. It is packaged in a sugarcane based plastic tube that is 100% recyclable, minus the cap.


Revitalizing Eye Cream - This one is a nice product, but I don't really see the benefit to an eye cream in general. I prefer to just stick with a moisturizer and hope for the best. It is packaged in a sugarcane based plastic tube that is 100% recyclable, minus the applicator and cap.


Texture Smoothing Cream - This is a fun moisturizer, but the smell of celery sort of threw me off. If you like the smell of celery and need a new moisturizer, this is the one to choose! Packaged in a glass jar.


Resurfacing Sleep Mask - I love this product. I tend to forget it is in my drawer, but when I find it I am always very excited. It is a super gentle, natural retinol that helps lift impurities from your skin overnight while also moisturizing. I always wake up feeling refreshed the next morning after using this. Packaged in a glass jar.


Turmeric Spot Treatment - I don't really know if this one works, but it feels very nice. I currently have acne just about everywhere on my face so this is more of an overall mask for me than a spot treatment. It is super gentle so if I leave it on a little longer than planned, I don't see any negative impacts and it leaves my skin feeling fresh. It stains suuuuper easily though so I have to try not to get it on any clothes and I have a designated washcloth that is the only one I use to remove this mask. Packaged in a recyclable plastic tube.


Sake Body Lotion - THIS. This is an incredible product. This lotion is incredibly smooth and I absolutely love how it makes my skin feel. It is unscented which is great for me and my sensitive skin and the sake provides a lot of healthy enzymes and sugars that are great for keeping a protected skin barrier. Highly recommend. The bottle is made from recycle ocean plastics and also recyclable.


Scrubbing Clay - This is another product that I absolutely love. I use it when I am experiencing more body acne than normal, have a peeling sunburn, or just feel like I need a good exfoliation session. The exfoliation is super gentle, but the product smells amazing and fresh and leaves my skin feeling super smooth. Packaged in a sugarcane based plastic tube that is 100% recyclable, minus the cap.


Raspberry Vinegar Toner - I ran out of this product which has made me sad so I need to go get some more very soon. This toner is great for my acne prone skin. It dries out my blemishes and makes them feel less intense. I apply this with my reusable cotton rounds after I was my face and before I moisturize and it is amazing. This product is packaged in a glass bottle and cardboard box.


One-for-all Balm - This product is so so good. I use it as a lip balm when my lips are extra chapped or as a cuticle balm for dry cuticles. I even used it as a sunburn remedy recently as mine started to peel and it definitely helped my skin stay moisturized. Packaged in a sugarcane based plastic tube that is 100% recyclable, minus the cap.


Probiotic Acne Serum - This is one of my newer products so I am still testing it out, but so far I really like how it feels underneath my moisturizer. I haven't seen a ton of changes to my acne yet, but keeping my fingers crossed. Packaged in a glass bottle with a glass dropper.


Ceramide Barrier Serum - I got this one at the same time as the other serum and similarly have not been using it long enough to see too many changes. However, I do love how this one feels and it is definitely keeping my skin moisturized throughout the day. Packaged in a glass bottle with a glass dropper.


Golden Elixir - I don't see this one on the website anymore, but I use this oil as a hair treatment from time to time. If my scalp is feeling dry or irritated, I will massage this oil in and let it sit for a while before shampooing as usual. It definitely adds some much needed hydration, but it sort of smells like pickles... This product is packaged in a glass bottle and cardboard box.


Well it turns out I have used a lot more Cocokind products than I even realized, but I am happy to have tried so many and will probably keep trying them until I have tried them all. I highly recommend looking into this brand for any skincare needs, they are doing a lot of good work. Now it is time to switch back over to my homework tabs and get back to studying before my lunch break is over. I hope to get back to my blog posts on a more regular basis, but we will see how that goes. For now, thanks for reading and have a great weekend :)

8F09CA95-6273-4D2F-9CBD-66162018A845_edi

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm here to share my personal journey towards a more sustainable lifestyle! Follow along if you're interested :)

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
bottom of page